2023 Beltwide Cotton Conferences Student Award Winners

AGRONOMY, PHYSIOLOGY AND SOILS CONFERENCE

Undergraduate Poster						
Ranking	Title	Author				
1st	Research Experience on the Career of Undergraduates in Agriculture Disciplines	Blair Stinson				
2nd	Knowledge and Experiences Gained through My Crop Physiology Internship	Madeline Kail				
3rd	Utilizing the Winseedle to Determine Surface Area Abnormalities for Visually Damage Cotton Seeds	Becca Karriker				
M.S. Poste	M.S. Poster					
Ranking	Title	Author				
1st	Evaluating Skip-Row Patterns and the Ultra-Wide-Row (72- inch) System in NC Cotton	Michael Phillips				
2nd	Impacts of Wide Row Spacings on Yield Components of Cotton	Caitlyn Lawton				
3rd	Determining the Percent of Visual Mechanical Damage of Cotton Seed	Marisa Crisp				

Ph.D. Poster				
Ranking	Title	Author		
1st	Interactive Effects of Drought Stress and Nitrogen Deficiency on the Mechanistic Drivers of Net Photosynthesis in Field-Grown Cotton	Ved Parkash		
2nd	Evaluation of Nitrapyrin to Aid Nitrogen Management in Cotton	Carrie Ortel		
3rd	Evaluation of Thryvon Cotton As a Control Method of Cotton Fleahoppers Pseudatomocelis Seriatus (Reuter)	Brady Arthur		
M.S. Oral				
Ranking	Title	Author		
1st	Utilizing Precision Agriculture to Improve Sustainability and Reduce Input Costs through Variable Rate Seeding in Cotton Production	Kyle Smith		
2nd	On-Farm Evaluation of Seeding Rate By Management Zone to Manage within-Field Cotton Growth and Yield Spatial Variability in Georgia	Matthew Tucker		
3rd	Greenhouse Gas Emissions Following Manure Application in Organic Cotton	Nicholas Boogades		
Ph.D. Oral				
Ranking	Title	Author		
1st	Photosynthetic Thermotolerance in Diverse Cotton Genotypes	Navneet Kaur		
2nd	Effect of Planting Date, Seeding Rate, and Seed Size on Cotton Growth and Yield in South Carolina	Sarah Holladay		
3rd	Determining the Mechanistic Basis for N Deficiency-Induced Photosynthetic Inhibition in Field-Grown Cotton	Ved Parkash		

IMPROVEMENT CONFERENCE

Oral		
Ranking	Author	
1st	Stephen Parris	
2nd	Samantha Wan	
3rd	Reagan Heinrich	

INSECT RESEARCH AND CONTROL CONFERENCE



Front row (left to right): Andie Miller, Texas A&M, Honorable mention, Ph.D.; Judge Fortenberry, Miss. State, 1st place, M.S.; Mary Jane Lytle, Miss. State, 1st place, Ph.D.; Brett Farmer, Miss. State, Honorable mention, M.S.; Zack Murray, Univ. Arkansas, Honorable mention, M.S.

Back row (left to right): Michael Huoni, Miss. State, 1st place, M.S.; Thomas Paul, Miss. State, 1st place, M.S.; Sawyer Hopkins, Miss. State, Honorable mention, M.S.; John Schepis, Virginia Tech, Honorable mention, Ph.D.; Brady Arthur, Texas A&M, 1st place, Ph.D.



Pictured from left to right: Ron Smith (Auburn), Anders Huseth (NC State), Sally Taylor (Virginia Tech), (Middle - Presenting award – Roger Magarey Co-director of Southern IPM Center), Dominic Reisig (NC State), Phillip Roberts (Univ. of Georgia), and Jeremy Greene (Clemson).

